The neighborhood is nestled at the southeastern edge of San Francisco's central hills, the San Miguel Range. It includes Gold Mine Hill, a portion of Fairmount Hill to the east, Martha Hill to the south, as well as their southern- and eastern-facing slopes. The neighborhood's streets follow the hill's contours to a small commercial district ("the Village") at the intersection of Chenery and Diamond streets.
Glen Park's initial named streets were mapped in 1872 on land previously owned by milch rancher (ie, dairy farmer) George Ulshofer as early as 1859 or 1860. The route of the Old San Jose Road (also known as the El Camino Real) through the district would become the future streets of Diamond and Chenery, so the route was already well recognized and regularly trafficked.
Glen Park has a population of 29,523 people, with a median age of 41.5. Males make up 54.42 percent of the population, while females make up 45.58 percent. US-born people account for 73.08 percent of Glen Park's resident pool, while non-US-born residents account for 17.42 percent. Furthermore, non-citizens account for 9.49 percent of the population.
Transit through Glen Park began with the San Francisco and San Mateo Electric Railway, which provided access to the city's southern suburbs. When the San Francisco & SM was purchased by the San Francisco Municipal Railway in 1916, it improved transit even more. In 1927, the San Francisco Public Library created a branch. Today, transit is supplied by the Glen Park BART station, the Muni Metro's J Church line, and multiple Muni bus lines. The Interstate 280 is also close by.
Based on recent election outcomes, Glen Park tends to be extremely democratic. Glen Park has more democratic voters than other adjacent neighborhoods. Glen Park is more democratic than the rest of the country.
Glen Park is sometimes described as having a village atmosphere due to its small size and mom and pop businesses. A multi-use, urban infill project opened in 2006, anchored by a natural foods grocery and a new branch library. Public spaces include Walter Haas Playground, Billy Goat Hill Park, and Fairmount Plaza.
Glen Park School values its diversity. It broadens our educational experience and teaches us how to collaborate. We seek out deep community links to help our kids become more conscious of their surroundings and to enhance their entire character.
We train our students to be courageous, inquisitive critical thinkers with the confidence to take academic risks and fully interact in the world around them.
It was Baldwin who came up with the name of "Glen Park" for the district. The first use of “Glen Park” was when Baldwin announced the organization of the Glen Park Company in 1897, with the sole purpose of opening and managing a zoological gardens. His 145-acre pleasuring grounds and zoo became known as Glen Park and the Mission Zoo. Opening in 1898, it attracted 8,000 to 15,000 people each weekend for its vaudeville shows, daring aeronautic displays, sporting events, and animal exhibits.
After the pleasure grounds were a success, Baldwin began auctioning off his residence lots, Glen Park Terrace, which were placed along Glen Avenue (today's Chenery Street between Diamond and Elk Streets). Baldwin relinquished all of his assets in 1901, with much of the land being transferred to the California Title Company and the Crocker Estate, due to difficulties experienced in the management of Glen Park and the Mission Zoo, as well as poor sales of Glen Park Terrace home lots.
Browse Development Opportunity Reports for properties in Glen Park neighborhood (3,398 properties in total)